Donate

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Krista Davidson 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

s.wilkes
    Keymaster

Learning Objective: Explain why an engaged citizenry is vital to the ideals of American democracy.

Resources:

1. Civic Engagement: Social Organizations
    2. Benefits of Civic Engagement
    3. Serving the Common Good

Assignment:
    Answer and defend your answer:
    How do bleeding disorganizations measure up in terms of civic engagement? What do they do well and what could they do better?

Natalie Parker
    Participant

This is a difficult question to me, because I’m relatively new to the bleeding disorders advocacy community and haven’t been very active with my local chapter before this year. Based on what I know, the Eastern PA chapter is VERY active in state-wide advocacy and has regular meetings with the state insurance commissioner and the staff of federal elected officials. I believe that there are two areas in which we could improve 1) we could do better at working to inform elected officials who may not necessarily support the ACA about what our community stands for and 2) we could include in our advocacy more HTC staff members and maybe even doctors, if that’s possible. Whether or not they can do direct advocacy doesn’t necessarily matter, because I think that just keeping doctors and medical professionals abreast of what we are doing is an admirable goal.

I’ve shared my advocacy work with my doctor and she has been incredibly receptive and interested. (:

Michael Wile
    Participant