Donate

Hemophilia Federation of America (HFA) is pleased to offer free Mental Health First Aid training through an internationally renowned program by the National Council for Behavioral Health as part of HFA’s 2021 Mental Health and Wellness Initiative.

Participants who complete both sections of the course will receive a Mental Health First Aid certificate indicating they have been trained in recognizing the signs and symptoms of common mental health and substance abuse challenges, how to have an effective conversation about those challenges, and where to direct people for mental health care and support.

Participation and certification in MHFA is not meant to replace professional care. If you or someone you know is in crisis, please call 911 or see the HFA Resources to connect to appropriate care. If you have additional questions, email Heather Case.

Mental Health First Aid Training FAQ

Hemophilia Federation of America is dedicated to making mental health and wellness a priority. HFA is offering several opportunities and tools to increase access to education. These include:

HFA is not a direct Mental Health provider. Our role is to connect people to appropriate resources and to provide connections and community in the bleeding disorders space.

What does the MHFA training provide?

The MHFA training provides participants with knowledge regarding common mental health conditions, how to identify when someone is struggling emotionally and how to communicate with someone in despair. In addition to this, the curriculum provides training on suicide prevention and information on national mental health resources for care and support.

People who are trained in MHFA are not meant to replace professional care, they are only meant to assess, listen and stay with someone until professional help arrives or appropriate resources can be found.

What are the dates and times for 2021 trainings?

  • Nov. 13, 2021: The fourth cohort is open to 30 people.

All cohorts meet from 12 to 5 p.m. ET/11 to 4 p.m. CT/10 to 3 p.m. MT/9 to 2 p.m. PT

What is the time commitment?

Participants must commit to both the pre- work (estimated 2.5 hours) and the online live session (estimated 5 hours) in order to participate. You must be 18 years or older to apply. The MHFA training is open to anyone in the bleeding disorder community — patients, caregivers, hemophilia treatment center staff, member organization staff, etc

There is no cost to participants or Member Organizations to participate.

Who will facilitate the program?

Debbie de la Riva, LPC, is a licensed professional counselor, mother of a son with severe hemophilia and long-time bleeding disorders community member.


Sign up for E-mails, Dateline Magazine, and other ways to stay connected.